|||

2024-02-21 Log

Testing the simple magnet wire antennae more this morning. Tried creating a second coil and attaching each one to the left and right audio jack inputs for stereo reading/sound — good results! It’s neat how they pick up on slightly different spaces. I just roughly estimated the same length of wire, haven’t tried to see what using a dramatically shorter / longer amount of wire would do, though I have guesses.

I also took apart one and then re-wrapped it around the end of one of my prototyped dowsing rods — I really didn’t think it would work, because I thought having the one of the wire running back from the tip underneath the coils would interrupt the flow, but that doesn’t seem to be the case. It works fairly well! I totally think I could make two dowsing rod antennas using this method.

Now just to make my own version of what the Zoom H1 mic is doing. Revisiting this Make: project. …was able to find another tutorial, too, with a full schematic (apparently it’s slightly different):


Re. the IP cubes/grid idea, followed this origami tutorial to make a couple boxes out of tracing paper. Like the layered opacity effect from the paper. Tried putting something inside.


I forgot, but I was also doing some small tests with gridded metal:

Conducts electricity. Here’s one plane that’s hooked to power, the other to ground. The LED in between bridges and completes the circuit.

Up next 2024-02-20 Log 2024-02-22 Log
Latest posts 2024-03-23 Log Winter semester coming to a close 2024-03-06 Log Reflections on Discussing The Critical Atlas of the Internet - what we say about our tools 2024-02-22 Log 2024-02-21 Log 2024-02-20 Log 2024-02-04 Log 2024-01-30 Log 2024-01-29 Log 2024-01-25 Log 2024-01-24 Log 2024-01-23 Log 2024-01-21 Log Charting my fall studio activities What our tools say about us - Part 1 What I’ve been researching so far this fall Nocturne Log - Art at Night Week 7 - Part 2 - the unbuilding game Week 7 - Part 1 - message in a bottle Week 6 - The life and times of rocks Week 4 + 5 - gardens and other living places Week 3 - connections, agency, and traces Week 2 - the cloud under the water Week 1 - Embodied Research Water as a Gift - Making of - Post-Mortem Part 1 Log 11 - Manifesto Log 10 - Making a decision Log 9 - A trip to the gallery Notes - Cool Museums and Hot Museums Log 8 - reportage drawing