|||

2024-10-03 Log - Surfacing Developments

The past week I’ve been working on Surfacing, the new piece I’m showing in Surface Tension in… oh, about 10 days. I’ve been running around getting things together, meeting with people, buying materials, and testing things. It really isn’t that complicated of an installation, and yet it feels like there’s a million little decisions to figure out. Or maybe it’s me, and my perfectionistic streak that makes me want to control for every little thing.

I made a sample curtain, which is a little narrower than I want, but the length (6’) works. I also figured out the hanging device I’m going to use, which is a fabric twill strap that I’ve sewn an eyelet into, which the screw fits into (the screws themselves were a whole thing to figure out). In retrospect, I probably could just use a simple washer, and punch a hole through the fabric.

Kate the gallery director also gave me the go ahead, but raised a couple things I hadn’t considered. Namely, the hallway ends in a set of stairs, and the wall that I wanted to mount the second projector on is lower — it would beam right into people’s eyes as they approached the stairs, which we don’t want them to fall down into! I also realised that getting a ladder set up on stairs is tricky… it’s looking like I won’t have a second projector, afterall.

I also didn’t get the go-ahead to use the mini projectors I was testing with, so I’ve been looking around for alternatives. I’ve decided I’ll probably just use a standard, full-size single projector.

So! All these little hurdles that I’ve had to figure out… but I’m still excited for it. Charlit helped me test the sample curtain in the gallery last night, and I still think it looks cool!

I also went to Long Lake to shoot some underwater and surface video with a waterproof GoPro. It was a beautiful day. I love how alien/remote the underwater landscapes look, and the kind of moving-mirror effect the surface has when the camera is angled to look along it. It felt so wrong to submerge a camera in water, ha!

Up next 2024-09-23 Log - Joinery I wanted to follow up on progress made designing my little word-association ‘game’. I actually debuted it as Joinery at the Dartmouth Comic Arts
Latest posts 2024-10-03 Log - Surfacing Developments 2024-09-23 Log - Joinery 2024-09-23 Log - 9 projects 2024-07-30 Log 2024-07-28 Log Critique as Gift 2024-07-08 Log 2024-03-24 Log 2024-03-23 Log Winter semester coming to a close 2024-03-06 Log Reflections on Discussing The Critical Atlas of the Internet - what we say about our tools 2024-02-22 Log 2024-02-21 Log 2024-02-20 Log 2024-02-04 Log 2024-01-30 Log 2024-01-29 Log 2024-01-25 Log 2024-01-24 Log 2024-01-23 Log 2024-01-21 Log Charting my fall studio activities What our tools say about us - Part 1 What I’ve been researching so far this fall Nocturne Log - Art at Night Week 7 - Part 2 - the unbuilding game Week 7 - Part 1 - message in a bottle Week 6 - The life and times of rocks Week 4 + 5 - gardens and other living places Week 3 - connections, agency, and traces